Catch up.

I need to write more, but for the past like…year, everytime I think “oh I should go write something in  my blog” I come to a dead end. Any topic I think I should write about seems flat to me. I lose motivation because I think I have nothing interesting to say. Maybe I don’t anyway. But there used to be a time where I’d blog everyday and never run out of things to write about.

Maybe I should start the annual season depression posts, because I think it’s setting in. The daylight is short, but it’s so cold that I don’t really get to spend time outside. I am a person that thrives on fresh air. Being out in nature is crucial for me-for my emotional and spiritual wellness. That is why the winters are so hard for me. It’s not the snow-I find the snow quite beautiful. It’s Michigan’s cold temperatures and biting wind that make me want to curl up in my bed and hibernate until spring.

I realize I didn’t do a Christmas post! We had a great Christmas. Sophie was spoiled as expected. We hosted our families in our new home and had a wonderful day! I love the look on her face in this one:

She actually got into opening presents this time.  After all the gifts were opened, she signed “more” and said “More. More gifts!” I told her no more gifts until her birthday 🙂

We enjoyed a full week off of work between the holidays. Kev and I put our time to good use by getting many things done around the house. We went to Ikea to get office furniture:

New bookshelves, desk, chair, rug, and table & chairs set for Sophie. Everything looks so much better and the space is so much more enjoyable. I decided to organize my books by color, and I think they look great. I truly, truly thought I had more books than this. Looks kind of empty, doesn’t it? I allotted two squares for Sophie’s things-one for her coloring books and crayons, the other for a small collection of her reading books.

But I think the highlight of Sophie’s holiday season was getting to spend enormous amounts of time with her beloved Mimi! She talks about Mimi everyday. We are so blessed to live so close.

Making cookies on our Baking Day at Kim’s.

On Christmas Day, opening up the new owl pillow that Mimi made.

Sidenote: Sophie has a weird mild-obsession with owls. Those pants she’s wearing in that picture? Owls on them. She asks to wear them just about every day. She calls them either her “ooowlll nants” or her “hoot hoot nants” (nants=pants). Also, I’ve been oogling this PBK owl bedding for her big girl bed.

Can’t think of a good way to end this so….adios. Good-bye.