Two posts in one day!

I was thinking of waiting until tomorrow to write so I didn’t seem to overeager or anything, but then I thought to myself, “Hey, who is really reading this? Probably not anyone I actually know. Write on.” So that’s just what I’m going to do.


I have really come to hate questions regarding what my major was and what I “see myself doing” with it. Honestly, I don’t know. And I don’t have to know. I just graduated 4 months ago. If I’m doing something that I enjoy, even though I’m not getting paid, that counts too right? I love working with the kids at church, and honestly I think that a lot of the classes I had to take for my ministry major come in handy when I’m working in kid’s ministry. Unfortunately, I can’t get paid because just like everywhere else in the state there are no job openings. What I’m saying is that I’m content working at JoAnn’s and volunteering in kid’s ministry. I don’t really care if people don’t think that it’s very “respectable” or whatever. I’m enjoying my life. And I’m not hearing too many people saying that.

On the other hand, I don’t want to work at JoAnn’s or in retail forever. I want to work somewhere that makes me feel alive and needed and like I’m making a difference in the world or at least in someone’s life. I want a job that really challenges me and makes me better. I just haven’t found it yet. 

I don’t want to live in this place for the rest of my life. Which is why I’m secretly counting the months until Kevin graduates so we can move. I need a change of scenery. I don’t want to raise my kids here, when I have kids. I don’t want to grow old here. I can see Kev and I living in the mountains or by the ocean, or at least somewhere where I don’t feel so crowded. I’m not much for the city, I need space to see the sky and run on trails. The park next door is a decent substitute, but it won’t satisfy me long-term. I need to be able to walk around barefoot and not worry about what my hair looks like when it gets all mussed up by the wind.

I’m thinking northern California, or Montana, or Colorado, or South Carolina…


Leave a comment